Ask VlogGrrr

HOW DO I STAY POSITIVE?

Hey Bloggies!! Recently, someone sent me this question via Twitter (@VlogGrrr) and I thought I’d share and try to answer as best as I can!

“Hi VlogGrrr, I notice in your videos that you talk about being strongrrr and ur always positive. I’m trying to be a better person too but ppl keep testing me. How do I stay positive and b stronger like you said?? Hope you can help and I luv ur videos too thx!”

Let me start off by saying that anyone who is trying to better themselves and can recognize a weakness in themselves and is trying to overcome that, is an AMAZING PERSON!! Also, if you watch my videos or read my blog, then that makes you an AMAZING PERSON too, bias aside! 😉

As much as I want to stay positive, there are definitely times that I want to go off on people too! It is absolutely normal, just like joy, sadness, fear, or any other human emotion. The important thing is how we respond to this emotion. People will try you all the time, especially when life knows that you are trying to be a better person. Life is funny like that. Kind of like when you decide to go on a diet and THAT is the week that you get special treats like free pizza or cake at school or work. Or you parents decide to take you to your favorite restaurant! Life has a way of testing you when you’re most vulnerable. You get bombarded with negativity, or family problems, or tragedies, or your best friends seem to turn their backs on you when you’ve made a conscious decision to stay positive. But it’s up to you if you fight to stay strong and find out how to deal with these hurdles that life drops in your path and how you want to move forward. You can’t control those around you or your situations or your feelings about what is going on but you can control how you react to those situations and feelings. You can get angry but you don’t have to punch anyone or anything. You can get sad but you don’t have to give up on life. You can get scared but you don’t have to let your fear paralyze you and keep you from moving forward.

If it’s somebody that’s close to you like a friend or family member that is “trying” you, it may be because they themselves are going through a difficult time or dealing with some tough emotions and they might be too ashamed or scared to tell you. So instead, they just push you away by hurting you or making you angry. So if it’s a friend that is introducing negativity into your life, you might need to #BeStrongGrrr and find out what the reason is for their behavior. If there’s no explainable or legitimate reason for their behavior, then maybe it’s time to let them go.

People who are unhappy with themselves only serve to bring others down. MISERY. LOVES. COMPANY. When someone is unhappy with themselves they don’t want to be the only one who is miserable while everyone else around them is happy. So these unhappy people will try to focus on other people’s situations around them and try to make them look worse so they can feel better about themselves. They try to bring others down to their own miserable level. On the other hand, when someone is truly happy, the happy person wants to share their joy, and they want everyone else around them to be happy. With this in mind, we shouldn’t get angry by those people who are trying to bring us down. If anything, we should feel bad for them, because that just means that they are so unhappy with themselves and their own life that they have to try to bring others down with them. And we cannot let their negativity and unhappiness dictate our own happiness and positivity.

The biggest advice I can give you for living a positive life and staying positive is to surround yourself with as much positivity as you can, including positive people. (Did you notice that I used the word “positive” 4 times in that last sentence? THAT’S POSITIVE BABYYY!!)  By this, I don’t mean people who have their heads in the clouds and talk about rainbows and fairies all day. I’m referring to people who are kind to you and to others; who will help you and encourage you; and who will speak life into you. Listen to more positive music and read more positive stuff. If you’re on Twitter or Facebook or even reading online blogs (such as this one), make sure that you follow and subscribe to more positive people who say encouraging things throughout the day, instead of those who bash others and like to stir up drama. Be positive towards others and do positive things throughout your day. Even if it’s just a smile or a simple compliment like “I like your shoes;” something as simple as that can go such a long way in brightening up someone’s day.

As I write this, I was having a pretty crappy day. I was in a “funk” as some would say. And one simple, surprise text message from my brother turned my entire day around. The text didn’t even say anything. It was just 2 images of his neck x-rays. But in a moment where I was feeling like nobody cared about little old me (yes, we all feel this way at some point in our lives), my brother let me know that I was in his thoughts. Even if it was just to share his x-rays, I was important enough in his life to share his x-rays with! 😉 Silly, I know! But it’s just the little things that let others know that you notice them and you’re thinking about them and you care enough about them to inject a small dose of positivity in their day. Even if you yourself are having a bad day or aren’t feeling too positive, you will see how sharing some positivity with others can help give you some in return!

So try and block out as much negativity as you can in your life and only let positivity in and you’ll see how much better you feel about yourself and the world around you. I hope this helps and I’m happy that you’re trying your best to be happy and positive! The world needs so much more of that and it starts with me and it starts with you! I love you and remember to always #BeStrongGrrr!

P.S. It also helps to have something to help remind you to stay/think positive. I wear superman wristbands and/or a superman band-aid that helps to remind me to be stronger.

Follow me through life’s journey by subscribing to this blog and/or my YouTube Channel! 

~ VlogGrrr

#BeStrongGrrr

2 thoughts on “HOW DO I STAY POSITIVE?

Leave a Reply

